CULLOHILL COMMUNITY CENTRE AGM: The AGM of Cullohill Community Centre was held recently where a very successful year was reviewed. The Centre continues to host many activities as well as facilitating numerous groupings and clubs. The following summarises some of the details for the year just passed with the same and more planned for the coming year – Monster Auction, Circuit Training, Study Hub, Porridge Making/Folly Festival, Walking Club Mon/Fri, Handball, Squash, Active Retirement Club, ICA, Rory O’Connell Food Event, Weekly Card Drives, Bridge evenings, Indoor Soccer Leagues, Pilates, Irish Dancing Classes, purchase of new tables, portable stage, white-boards and improved sound system.
For 2019 plans are afoot to re-develop the Community Centre concentrating on meeting rooms and kitchen including removal of existing stage area to facilitate larger meeting rooms. In addition, it is proposed to extend the handball facility to include kitchen / meeting room. This is being worked on in conjunction with the Community Council with the hope that substantial funding can be secured through the Leader Programme to support this development.
The following is the committee for the coming year: Chairperson – Vincent O’Sullivan (087) 4168549; Vice Chairperson – Liam Dunphy; Secretary – Noel Delaney (087) 2456147; Assistant Secretary – Anne Comerford, Treasurer – Stephen Gleeson; Assistant Treasurer – John Dolard; PRO – Shirley Bergin; Committee Members – Sean Kelly, Ciara McEvoy, Willie Dunphy, Noel Kirby, Michael Killeen, Christopher Dalton, Margaret Murphy, Eamonn Fitzpatrick and Clement Whyte. Ciara McEvoy and Margaret Murphy are new on this year’s committee and are welcomed to the role while at the AGM, both Anne Fitzpatrick and Eimear O’Brien stepped off the committee for the coming year – both were thanked for their input over the last number of years.