On October 24th 1915 (one hundred years ago) Laois hurlers won the county’s only senior All Ireland Title. The team was powered by the famous Ballygeehan team of the era and captained by John Finlay. Other clubs represented were Abbeyleix, Ballacolla, Kilcotton, Rapla and Rathdowney on the day when Laois beat a highly fancied Cork side in Croke Park.

On Sunday October 18th next, Clough High Nelly Club are organising a leisurely 12km cycle through the Aghaboe parish re-enacting the players mode of transport to mark the centenary of 1915. Commencing in Clough at 1pm the route will pass The Long Meadow field where the Ballygeehan team trained.

At the field the cycle will take a break for a brief talk on the story of the 1915 team before returning to Clough. Light refreshments will be served in the hall where the Bob O’Keeffe cup will be in attendance. All are welcome especially cyclists. Subscription €5.