The first trout fishing competition of the year was held on St. Patrick’s Day for the Michael Walsh Cup. There were some beautiful fish landed and the competition was very close. The winner was Sean Geoghegan; Second – Pat Dunphy; Third – Philip Kearney and the Juvenile winner was Daniel Brophy.

Then on Sunday 20th of March the club held another trout fishing competition for the Billy Lawlor Memorial Cup. The winner was Pat Dunphy; Second – Seanie Delehunty and Third – Declan McDonald.

The next competition will be held on April 3rd for the Mick O’Rourke Memorial Trophy and it will again be trout fishing. Membership is available at Lawlor’s Gala, Daybreak, Lawlor’s Florists and from Mick Walsh, 18 Erkindale Drive.